Actors Receive Coveted Award

Sophie Wilde and Mike Faist received the Trophée Chopard from Demi Moore during the 77th Cannes International Film Festival

The breakout stars received the coveted Trophée Chopard from Hollywood veteran Demi Moore in an emotional ceremony at the Carlton Beach Club, close to the Palais des Festivals and its iconic steps.

An integral part of the Cannes International Film Festival since 2001, the Trophée Chopard signifies Chopard Co-President and Artistic Director Caroline Scheufele’s enduring passion for cinema. It is presented annually to actors who have made a promising start to their careers.

The winners were chosen by members of the Académie du Trophée Chopard.

Demi Moore, whose on-screen career spans more than 40 years, was chosen as the ‘Godmother’ of this year’s edition by Caroline Scheufele and she handed the prize – a gold-coated silver film reel – to the two young actors after a retrospective of their careers was shown to the audience.

Earlier, Iris Knobloch, Cannes International Film Festival President, and Thierry Frémaux, general delegate, along with Caroline Scheufele, welcomed guests for an evening filled with a shared passion for cinema and a dedication to nurturing new talent.

The deeply moved laureates were warmly applauded by a host of celebrities from the world of filmmaking, including Cannes Festival Jury President Greta Gerwig and jury members: Eva Green, Ebru Ceylan, Lily Gladstone, Nadine Labaki, Juan Antonio Bayona, Pierfrancesco Favino, Kore-Eda Hirokazu and Omar Sy.

Later, a scrumptious meal prepared by two Michelin-starred chef Bruno Oger delighted guests with flavours from southern France following which and during the evening, Qatari artist Dana Al Fardan captivated the audience with the music from her latest album, Indigo, staging a multi-sensory audio-visual experience that fosters connectivity and mindfulness through light, colour and sound.

Later, Caroline Scheufele invited the guests to continue the celebration on the Chopard Rooftop at the Hôtel Martinez where Alessandro Ristori and the Portofinos kept the energy alive, performing songs inspired by 1960s and 1970s Italian music and British pop rock.  

The Trophée Chopard

In over two decades, the Trophée Chopard winners have brilliantly fulfilled the expectations placed upon them. From Marion Cotillard, who scooped an Oscar in 2008 for her performance in Olivier Dahan’s La Vie en Rose, to Léa Seydoux who was awarded a Palme d’or in 2013; Diane Kruger, who won the Best Actress prize at Cannes in 2017; Niels Schneider, who earned a César Award for Most Promising Actor in 2017 and  Florence Pugh and Jessie Buckley who were nominated for Oscars just a few months after being honoured in 2019 and 2021, this award has often paved the way for a successful international career.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

two × one =